Socialcast Learn About Socialcast

Legal Settings

Location: Admin Settings > Legal > Settings Socialcast allows each community to maintain their own privacy policy and terms of service.

Adding a Custom Privacy Policy

Socialcast provides a privacy policy regarding the use of every Socialcast community. This policy is available through the Privacy Policy link in the footer of every page in the community. You cannot edit the policy, but you may want to append your own privacy policy regarding employee communication. You can configure the community to require all new and existing users to accept the policy the next time they log in (see Understanding the Options). Legal_Custom Privacy Policy

Adding Custom Terms of Service

Socialcast also provides a terms of service document regarding the use of the Socialcast software. Like the Privacy Policy, the Terms of Service document is available through a link in the footer of every page. Companies often append their own terms of service or social media policies to the default document. You can configure the community to require all new and existing users to accept the policy the next time they log in. Legal_Custom Terms of Service The community administrator can add a custom disclaimer to the footer of every page displayed in your community. Some companies use this customizable area to remind users that Socialcast is a company-sanctioned communication tool. Other companies use the footer to share more detailed contact information for the community manager. Legal_Custom Disclaimer

Understanding the Options

Socialcast provides a few options that allow the community administrator to notify users when there are changes to the privacy policy and/or the terms of service and require users to accept these documents the next time they log in. Legal_Privacy Options Option 1. Require all users to accept your custom Terms of Service and/or Privacy Policy. When you check this option, the next time a user logs into the community, Socialcast requires the user to accept the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service documents before giving them access to the community. After this option is turned on, Socialcast keeps track of which users have accepted the documents and won’t require them to do so again for subsequent logins. This option does not apply to new users. Option 2. Require new users to accept your custom Terms of Service and/or Privacy Policy. When you check this option, Socialcast will require all new users who log in for the first time to accept the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service documents. If you want to ensure that every user accepts the documents at least once, then you need to keep this option on all the time. Socialcast does not send an email when you turn on this feature. There is a third option at the bottom of the page that allows the community administrator to automatically send out an email to all users whenever there is any change to the Legal Settings. Legal_Send Mail for Changer Option 3. Send out an email to all users notifying them that the Terms of Service and/or Privacy Policy have changed. Occasionally, companies make significant changes to the Privacy Policy or Terms of Service and want to make users aware of the changes. When you check this option, Socialcast immediately sends all existing users a generic email notifying them that there are changes. The email does not specify which document was changed or what the changes are. You can send a broadcast message if you need to convey the details to users. If you want users to reaccept the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, you must ensure that the first option (Require all users to accept your custom Terms of Service and/or Privacy Policy) is also checked. Socialcast will then send all existing users another email message asking them to reaccept the documents. The next time a user logs in to the community, Socialcast will force them to accept the changes. The interaction of the various legal options can be a bit confusing. Here are a few scenarios with recommendations.
Scenario Option Settings
You’re setting up a new community and you want everyone to accept the legal documents. Turn on both options 1 and 2.
You make a minor change that does not require users to reaccept. Do nothing. Keep the settings you normally use for options 1 and 2; do not turn on option 3.
You make major changes that require users to reaccept. Turn on option 3; also turn on option 1 if it’s not already on; turn on option 2 to ensure new users accept in the future.
You make changes and want to alert users, but you do not want them to reaccept. Keep the settings you normally use for options 1 and 2; do not turn on option 3; instead, send a broadcast message with all the details and suggest users follow the footer links to view the new documents.
You have an existing community and you didn’t realize you needed to set these options initially. Now you want to make sure all users accept the legal documents. Turn on both options 1 and 2.

Automatic Data Removal

Some organizations require their community data to be purged after a certain amount of time to comply with strict legal or data retention policies. Community administrators can configure this using the Automatic Data Removal setting. To use this feature, enable it and set the desired number of days. All messages and corresponding comments/likes that have had no interaction older than the set amount of days will be hard-deleted. Note that any interaction with a message, including likes, new comments, or likes on comments will reset the time period counter.

Warning: This feature should only be enabled if required by your organization. All deleted messages cannot be recovered and will affect your community’s analytics/SBI data.

Legal_Automatic Data Removal