Socialcast Learn About Socialcast

Performing User Actions

Location: Admin Settings > Community Management > User Management > Users > Actions The Administrator can perform the following operations from the gear icon drop-down in the Actions column: User Management Actions

Edit User Information

Each user can edit the majority of his/her profile and account information through the Edit Profile page. However, the administrator controls some information, such as email address, company login ID, and role assignments. Location: Admin Settings > Community Management > User Management > Users > Actions > Edit Select Edit User         Most of the information on the Edit User dialog is self-explanatory. See Managing User Roles for more information about the various role types. Edit User           The Directory Integration checkbox indicates whether or not the community uses LDAP to update a user’s information. If your community doesn’t use LDAP, this field is irrelevant. However, if you do use LDAP, then this box should be checked for only those users whose information is maintained on the LDAP server. A community using LDAP may also contain users whose information is not stored on the LDAP server. For example, seasonal or temporary workers may be Socialcast community members, but companies may choose not to enter their user information into the LDAP database. External contributors also fall into this category since they are not company employees. For these users, the community administrator must ensure that the Directory Integration checkbox is unchecked. Otherwise, the next time an update occurs, LDAP will check to see if there are any changes in the user’s master record, discover that there is no master record, assume that the user is no longer employed at the company, and delete the user from the Socialcast community.

Deactivate User

Location: Admin Settings > Community Management > User Management > Users > Actions > Deactivate When Deactivate User is selected from the Actions list, the User’s account is deactivated, but not deleted. It can be reactivated at a later time by resending an activation email. Deactivate User  

Reset Password

Location: Admin Settings > Community Management > User Management > Users > Actions > Reset Password When Reset Password is selected from the Actions list, the user will be sent a ‘Forgot Your Password’ email with a temporary password. The user will be prompted to reset his/her password upon login.  

Reset Password

View in SBI

Location: Admin Settings > Community Management > User Management > Users > Actions > View in SBI. When View in SBI is selected from the Actions list, the User’s Individual Activity is displayed in the Social Business Intelligence section of Admin Settings.  

View in SBI

Revoke Access Tokens

Location: Admin Settings > Community Management > User Management > Users > Actions > Revoke Access Tokens.When Revoke Access Tokens is selected from the Actions list, the User is no longer allowed to log in to the Socialcast community. Reset Access Token